June 2013 Birchbox Review

June 2013 BirchBox

I was so excited to receive my first Birchbox this month! I loved the pink mailer it arrived in, and was very impressed with the sleek-looking box and delicately wrapped products in pink tissue paper. Birchbox is a $10 monthly subscription service that sends you 4-5 deluxe beauty samples and full-sized products. This month’s theme is Wonderlust, and the products are supposed to help you on your summer adventures. The Birchbox “extra” this month were postcards of different locations.

Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleanser

The first product that I opened was the Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleanser. It had a very strong lemon scent which reminded me of dish soap but also made me think of words like “clean” and “fresh”. I used this product to wash my face and I have got to say, I loved it. The sugar scrub helps to gently exfoliate your skin and then turns into a nice foamy lather. After rinsing and drying off my face, my skin felt smooth and very clean. I have oily skin, which makes it difficult for me to find a good cleanser that won’t dry my skin out like the Sahara, but at the same time not be so “moisturizing” that I still feel oily. I loved the Suki Cleanser because it made my face feel refreshed and silky without feeling greasy. I don’t know if it actually helped brightened my skin but it sure did feel good after I used it!

Mirenesse Glossy Kiss Perfect Kiss

The second product that I ended up using pretty much right away was the Mirenesse Glossy Kiss in the shade Perfect Kiss. I used this product on my lips first and really liked it. It had a really nice sheen, kept my lips moisturized, and the color was a very pretty pinky red. It said it could be also used on your cheeks so I decided to give it a try. It ended up looking AMAZING as a blush color for my cheeks! It gave such a healthy glow to my face and made my skin just look so pretty! I got so many compliments from wearing it that I’ve pretty much worn it every day! The product was a full-sized sample so I will definitely get a lot of use out of it, and there is a good chance I will purchase this product when I run out!

Klorane Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk

I had never tried a dry shampoo before but I have heard so many great things about dry shampoo that I was really excited when I saw one in my Birchbox! This one is by Klorane and contains oat milk. The first time I used this product it did not turn out well at all. I tried to hold the product as far away from my roots as possible (it says about 12 inches) but it still left a very white powder on my scalp. This would be fine, I suppose, if I did not have super dark brown hair. I was able to comb it out, but it seemed to leave my normally glossy brown hair looking dull. The second time I used it I was able to spray it even further away but there still was a white powder on my roots. Even combing it out still left my hair dull, and it did not make my thick hair feel clean. I would consider using this product or another dry shampoo maybe after exercising or transitioning from work to a night out, but I would not rely on this product as shampoo alone. Maybe I just need to try a different type. Does anyone with thick dark hair use a dry shampoo? If so leave a comment so I can try it!

100% Pure Nourishing Body Cream

I love body lotion so of course I was psyched when I saw these samples in my Birchbox. I wish the samples weren’t foil packets because I always feel once I open a foil packet I need to use all of it or it will dry out, or end up getting everywhere. The body lotion is 100% Pure Nourishing Body Cream in both Vanilla Bean and Coconut. I’m going on a cruise to the Bahamas later this year so these will come in handy to toss in my bag instead of a large bottle of lotion.Color Club® Wanderlust Collection Reign in Spain The last product in my birchbox this month was the Color Club Wonderlust Collection Nailpolish in Reign in Spain. I like that this coral orange-y color mostly because orange is my favorite color! I haven’t had a chance to use this product yet but I know when I do, it will be a great fun summer color!

So after my first Birchbox, I have to say, I am so impressed! I loved pretty much all my products and have gotten use out of them. For just 10 dollars you really get the chance to try a range of different products including nail, skin and makeup which makes Birchbox a really enjoyable box to receive! I can’t wait to get my July box!

If you are interested in signing up for Birchbox, you can use this link http://birch.ly/14rQW7r

Share with me what you got in your Birchboxes this month! Ask questions for me or share feedback in the comment box below!

<a href=”http://www.hypersmash.com”>www.hypersmash.com</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

